Mystery Hangout: New Jersey

I’ve written before about connecting classes through activities like Mystery Skype or Mystery Hangouts, so I thought it was about time I shared one of my activities.

I posted in the Mystery Hangout Google+ community in desperation. I had a PD session where I wanted to introduce this activity and my mystery person fell through. A teacher from New Jersey kindly replied but a bit too late for my session, so we ended up organizing the activity for our two classes, her 5th graders, and my 6th graders. It was the first time I was going to do this activity with them, so I had to walk them through. As I explained in my post on connecting classes, you need to think this through for it to be a successful activity. To my mind, the most important aspect is the role assignment. Each student needs to have a ‘job’ to do, otherwise, they get distracted, they are unsure what to do or might even get in trouble. I have a fairly small class of 17 students, so this was easy. I had the ‘clue keepers’, the ‘Googlers’, the ‘mappers’ and so on.

IMG_1046

This is a great idea from Heidi’s class that I’ll definitely borrow: thinking time signs.

I had originally planned for 4 students to ask questions but then everyone wanted to ask!

The great thing about assigning jobs is that once the activity gets started everyone knows what to do and you can take a step back and supervise.

IMG_1079

Why, oh, why did Heidi show them their class pet, a chinchilla?!? They’ve been asking for one for days!

As you can see, this is a fairly simple activity to carry out. There’s no mystery to it (yes, the pun is intended) All you need is to start connecting with people. There are hundreds of teachers out there looking for a class to connect right now. So get started. Your students will have a blast – and so will you!

Leave a Reply

